Trying Something New

Members' personal profiles.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

MyOwnWorstEnemy

Trying Something New

Postby MyOwnWorstEnemy » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:11 am

This is all very new to me (forums and blogs). I guess I should start off with a little background information about myself. I am a 35 year old male who has suffered with depression since a early age. It seems like every year it gets a tad bit worse and what is starting to scare me is I feel defeated for the first time. That being said I am not suicidal but do have thoughts from time to time. I had a very close friend who's son killed himself so I know what havoc that inflicts on those around you.

The depression really seamed to peek 5 years ago when my mother passed away. Although I was always independent I was very close with my mother. She had cancer and passed quickly but I never realized until after her passing how much I relied on her to talk. I am not good at expressing myself at all and she always knew how to handle me i guess. I have trust issues and that tends to keep me in confiding in friends or family.

I have been happily partnered for 2 years now and that aspect of my life is great. However me and him are a lot a like as far as depression goes and I am sure we feed off each other emotionally. I would love to find away to be able to talk to him and really express myself.

I have discovered that I do quite well talking about emotional issues online . I guess the fact that its anonymous I don't have to worry about someone using information to hurt me.