In the begining...

Members' personal profiles.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

GreenStar

In the begining...

Postby GreenStar » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:33 pm

Hello all. This is my first time using a forum of any kind. I thought it would be good to reach out for guidance since I'm very lost, plus, it might help me from the pent up anger and sadness of everyday life.

I'm 23 and I first noticed that I might suffer from depression when I was in high school. I got up the nerve to go tell my mom, but she told me it was all in my head and I'd get over it. After a few years of telling myself that and denying how I really felt I found myself sitting home alone more and avoiding social activities of any kind. Then my boyfriend would go to work and because he didn't understand depression, or how I felt, I'd stay quiet and pretend everything was okay until he went to work, then I'd run into the room and get underneath the blanket and cry until he got home.

I finally got sick of being sick and reached out for help. I started going to acupuncture which really helped a lot. But in order for me to get better I needed to express what was going on in my life and my acupuncturist referred me to an awesome councilor. On a scale of Zero, being fine and average, and 40 being most extreme, I rated a 44 on the depression scale. I started going to Al-anon for my co-dependency and I was put on medications but can't seem to find one I like. I'm settling with what I'm on now. I've been trough 2 kinds of meds, this one I'm on now, being the 3rd. I quit asking my doctor for help. Because they only get frustrated that I'm asking about anti depressants.