feel like I'm slipping

Introductions and welcomes.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

smarium

feel like I'm slipping

Postby smarium » Mon Dec 21, 2020 11:35 pm

Hi! This is my first time using a forum, lol, so I'm new at this. Anyways, I've been dealing with depression for around 5-6 years, since I was 14 (im almost 20 now), and even though I've been on medication and am generally doing better, I feel like I am slipping. About a year ago I went on 300mg Wellbutrin, and I was euphoric, but slowly it slipped away, and then I started getting migraines and vomiting from them, so now I am on venlafaxine. Its a weird time in my life because I have everything going for me, and I feel almost guilty for not being as happy, motivated, and energetic as I should be and want to be. it was almost easier when I was really depressed and not on meds because I knew it was all depression causing that stuff. but now I feel like its my fault. The headaches, lack of appetite, lack of motivation, the intense fatigue, the nightmares, the laziness, everything. I guess I'm not as sad, its more complicated than that now, idk. I feel trapped in these habits I developed when I was at my worse, and I fear that this is just who I am. I'm not as happy as I was when I first started medication, and I want to go back to that so bad.

CamGirl

Re: feel like I'm slipping

Postby CamGirl » Wed Dec 23, 2020 9:20 pm

Hello there. Welcome to the forum! Have you tried developing a new skill or a new hobby. There are things you can do aside from the medications. In my opinion, don't be too dependent on them. I know it's easier said than done, but the one that can help you the most is yourself. You have to try harder to have a positive outlook. Also, are you doing some exercise? It helps with our mood. I hope you also enjoy music or art as it helps with relaxation. Just focus on yourself, on being happy, and don't let depression define you.

Wishing you well!