New Member - Figuring Out About Myself?

Introductions and welcomes.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

Oasis29

New Member - Figuring Out About Myself?

Postby Oasis29 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 8:11 am

Hi! I am new to talking about my problems or issues since I like to keep things private, but I feel like I am at a point where I need an outlet for some feelings of anguish and guidance.

I don't think I am depressed, but I do feel sad sometimes. But I feel like it's because I am an introvert. There are moments of "What Do I Do With Myself?" I have no passion for something to strive for. I am just going through the motions of living life. I am a college student, so I am focusing on getting good grades and graduating, although I am beginning to feel lazy and procrastinating until the last moment. (But not too much because I do want to get good grades) I am currently studying abroad, so I am away from what is familiar to me, such as my family. They told me about seeing a therapist, but I am unable to obtain one at this moment.

I believe my issues start with my home life. My relationship with my mother began to disintegrate after my father passed away. She began drinking and began lashing out towards her children. Not physically but being emotionally abusive. Then she forced us to move a couple of times, so that left me with changing schools, so I wasn't able to make good friends. I am an introvert, so trying to integrate myself into an already made group of friends is pretty daunting to me. This leaves me second-guessing myself. I have trouble making decisions because most of my life, my mother has made the decisions.