Since I was 12

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

artist2

Since I was 12

Postby artist2 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:25 pm

I used to have social anxiety when I was a kid. Now as an adult, I realize how lonely I am... and I got very sad. I invested my time in a useless hobby; digital art. I couldn't finish my classes, I felt stupid and I hated seeing people. I hate how I try to make an effort to see someone. A friend or anyone, and they only want to see me because I pay for everything. I've struggled with jobs and to keep jobs because of being depressed.
Im not good with words but I'm hoping to know if someone can relate.

Frame

Postby Frame » Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:25 pm

Your feelings are very familiar.

It's a warm feeling to be part of a group, safely in the middle of a crowd. But for the most part everyone is somewhere closer to the edges. Some of us are very far out. I'm learning after 52 years, that some people are not easily happy; doesn't matter why really, things don't feel good for long, don't last. So I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to be happy, searching for those things, doing what has made me happy in the past. It's very hard to you our best if we are miserable.

So let's say your depressed. Let's say it's the opposite of being happy. And let's say your doing your art because it's one of the few things that make you happy. Rather than useless, I think I would call that essential.