Depression Treatment Medications and Their Effects on Me

Information about depression and other related health issues (includes medications).

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

bartelby

Depression Treatment Medications and Their Effects on Me

Postby bartelby » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:26 pm

I’ve been using depression treatment medications for a long while now. Every time I visit my psychiatrist, we change the treatment method and switch to another depression treatment medication. I accept that depression treatment is a long process and requires patience, dedication and much more. You can’t expect to learn how to cope with your depression just in one day. So, I’ve done my part by going to my doctor meetings regularly.

I’ve started with SSRIs (selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors). SSRIs are known as having few side-effects, yet this was the only medication with a side-effect on me. It was the day I had a mid-term exam. I studied all night because I was working during the day, plus, I can only study at nights. Luckily, there is a library near my university open 24/7.

So, I went to a café in the morning before the exam and met friends. Just as we left the café, a sudden mood change took place. Standing up seemed like a hard job at that moment. I kept walking but the only thing I could think about was “death”. So, I took the exam and it was about Hemingway. My answer solely based on my emotions and suicide. Anyway, I got 30/100 and moved on. Never had such side-effect again but it was a bad day indeed.