Aspergers, Muppets, and Depression

Members' personal profiles.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

stormerhas

Aspergers, Muppets, and Depression

Postby stormerhas » Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:05 pm

Hello, Im Heather.
I've been reading a few of your stories and now I don't feel so alone. Thank you to those who have a similar story to mine (Cat, Stillinlove, Bigbuck). I am 36 and am in a relationship with my best friend of 15 years. He and I have only been romantically involved for about 6 years. We are both artists so we're both kind of quirky anyway. He's a puppeteer and sculptor, I'm a painter. My BF was diagnosed at 19 with SAD, Depression, and OCD. He has been on (at one time or another) everykind of antidepressant and anti anxiety medication: Zoloft, Prozac, Wellbutrin, clonzapan, valium, seroquel, etc etc. Three years ago he was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome. AS is defined as high functioning autism affecting social interactions and communication. He has been in therapy off and on for most of his adult life. This has been a difficult journey for the both of us. We've been off again on again rocky roller coaster ride to hell and the emergency room for medication. I have been with him every step of the way. I've read all the books, gone to all the therapy sessions with him at his request. Tried in every way to help him pull himself out of his depression only to have him slip back down the abyss again and again.
This summer he spent 20 hours a day sleeping (seroquel) He didn't bathe for over ten days.

long story short. Right now he is completely off all medication and is on a homeopathic regimen to help him cope. It's been two months and he's been doing very well without Meds. I'm not doing so well.