New Member - Hello

Introductions and welcomes.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

whyme87

New Member - Hello

Postby whyme87 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:42 am

I'm a 29 year old musician and artist from New England, USA. My depression began when I was very young. I've struggled with it all of my self-conscious life. As a child I absolutely hated going to school, it made me so angry and sad inside and I couldn't understand why I was being forced to do something I hated so much. It didn't help that my schools were all under-staffed and poorly funded. Because the issue of my depression was never properly addressed or confronted, it got a lot worse in my adolescence.

Throughout my teens I used drugs to numb all of the negative emotions that I felt. By my 18th birthday I was addicted to heroin and living day-to-day. During the summer after I graduated high school while my friends were out having fun, I was bouncing between rehab facilities and staying in drug dens (usually decrepit tenement / boarding houses in Boston). I'll never forget how I felt the first time I ever had nowhere to go home to, and slept right on the street with some other addicts. During that time I experienced some truly awful things in the underworld of heroin addicts & dealers. Because of a couple of particular incidents involving guns and knives that happened during that time, I suffer from PTSD as well as depression.

In January 2007 I finally got myself together and got on a drug treatment program and got clean of all drugs. Here I am ten years later, and I don't do drugs anymore (!), and I feel I should be happy--or at least content--about that accomplishment, but I'm not. All I can do is look back at what I lost during those years, or I think about what I could've done better. I lost so many things and the friendship of many people, and it was so important to me. Since only 10% of heroin addicts successfully recover, I should feel lucky, but I don't.