Need some advice

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

BlueNote109

Need some advice

Postby BlueNote109 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:12 am

Hi,
I'm a bit new to opening up to people so sorry if it's a bit hard to read.

I guess my story begins about 6 years ago when I first realised I was in love with my best friend. I imagine these forums are full of this sort of thing. Anyway we're both male which I never really considered a problem, I've got no problem with homosexuals. I'm very much live and let live but I didn't and still don't consider myself to be gay or even properly bisexual. I'm still attracted to women but with him it's different.

I never had the courage to tell him (I guess for ease I'll refer to him as J) as I knew he didn't feel the same way about me and what good could it possibly do our friendship if I told him? About 2 years ago I realised that nothing good could ever come from this and that I needed to find a way to stop before he ended up getting a girlfriend and breaking my heart so I signed up to an online dating site. But I've not been able to make anything work there so went back to just loving him and being miserable, I pushed aside the knowledge that one day it would all blow up in my face.

I'd noticed for a while that J had been in contact with a girl but knew nothing about her and couldn't bring myself to ask him about it. A group of my friends and I go to the pub most weeks for a drink and a meal just to catch up with each other and five months ago yesterday (15th November 2017) we were there. He was texting her and I finally asked him about her to which he replied that he's been going out with this girl for some time. I guess I hadn't realised how far along things were or even if he really was going out with her.