Advice needed!

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

mimi1502

Advice needed!

Postby mimi1502 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:18 am

Hello. I'm currently in my third year in engineering and am dealing with a crisis which is getting worse by the day. Everyone thinks I'm in a romantic relationship with a boy. I care for him a lot and support him because he has just had a tragedy in his family and he could open up only to me about it and we became best friends thereafter. We know each other inside out. But ever since I have been sitting with him in class, my other friends slowly reduced talking to me and his friends reduced talking to him. Now we both are totally isolated and are wondering what we even did for others to change so much. We never said that we are in a relationship right so what is it that is making them treat us like we are. And now we heard that those people are even talking behind our backs. Me and this boy are actually very hurt and it has affected us a lot. We are both egoistic individuals who do not like to go behind anyone asking them to be our friends we just expect to be treated normally as we used to be.
So the advice I needed was that by us being egoistic and caring too much about our "self respect" are we making the wall between us and them more ? Or are we justified in being hurt? We never thought we would become isolated but at the same time we don't feel like going back to these friends since we feel they weren't even real. The rest of the class already has its own groups which we cant become a part of .. I'm confused how to survive two more years with zero friends.

ree

Re: Advice needed!

Postby ree » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:03 am